

Indigenous Education Consultative Meeting (IECM)

Background

On 23 November 2016, then Secretary, Dr Michele Bruniges AM, agreed to establish a bi-annual Indigenous education forum for state and territory Indigenous Education Consultative Bodies (IECBs), or related Indigenous education stakeholders. The Indigenous Education Consultative Meeting (IECM) was then formed in 2017, hosted by the Secretary and involving relevant departmental staff and representatives of state and territory IECBs. Dr Ros Baxter PSM, then Deputy Secretary, Schools Group, became Chair in May 2021, as the lead for the Closing the Gap agenda across the department. Ms Meg Brighton, Deputy Secretary, Schools Group, became Chair in June 2023.

The IECM is an important engagement mechanism for the Department with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander stakeholders. It brings together a representative from each state and territory, drawing on IECBs where they exist, or longstanding identified stakeholders in other jurisdictions. It provides an opportunity for two-way information sharing and advice around the Department's work in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education. Representatives from the National Indigenous Australians Agency also attend the meeting, providing greater opportunities to collaborate across government.

The IECBs that form the IECM members are the peak community advocacy and advisory bodies for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education within their jurisdictions, each being closely linked with local Aboriginal communities. The IECM meets with the department quarterly and provides Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with a voice in how national education policy is designed and delivered. It is a valuable and collaborative mechanism that enables participants to share their expertise and local perspectives in ways that bring diversity and cultural integrity to the Department's consideration of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education policy.

The Department also invites representatives from external organisations to attend to provide updates and/or seek advice on projects that are of interest to the members and relate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.

In the spirit of the National Agreement on Closing the Gap, the Department of Education is working with IECM members to support the establishment of a national Indigenous education peak body, the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education Council (NATSIEC). NATSIEC's establishment will provide a national Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education voice that can ensure Indigenous communities' educational aspirations are heard and acted on.

Last Updated: 7 March 2024

OFFICIAL

IECM Representatives 2024

Name	Position	State or Territory
Professor Peter Buckskin	Chair, South Australian Aboriginal Education and Training Consultative Council (SAAETCC)	SA
	http://saaetcc.edu.au/	
Ms Geraldine Atkinson	President, Victorian Aboriginal Education Association Incorporated (VAEAI)	VIC
	https://www.vaeai.org.au/	
Mr Raymond Ingrey	Interim President, NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group (NSW AECG)	NSW
	https://www.aecg.nsw.edu.au/	
Mr Leigh Ridgeway	Association Management Committee (AMC) representative, NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group (NSW AECG)	NSW
	https://www.aecg.nsw.edu.au/	
Mr Maurice Walker	ACT Community Representative	ACT
Mr Leon Epong	Chair, Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education and Training Advisory Committee (QATSIETAC)	QLD
Ms Isabelle Adams	WA Community Representative	WA
Associate Professor Clair Andersen	Aboriginal Higher Education Advisor, Tasmanian Institute of Learning and Teaching (TILT), University of Tasmania	TAS
Ms Leeann Mick-Ramsay	CEO - Aboriginal Peak Organisations NT (APONT)	NT